new project: small home recording console

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dimitree

I started this new project: a small and simple console for my bedroom studio.
I'm seeking advices and corrections about the concept, since I'm not a beginner when talking about recording studio workflow.

I have several synthesizers (most of them DIY by me) and other electrical instruments (guitar, bass, e-drums), so my main needs are:
- not to be forced to use the computer + soundcard every time that I want to play (monitor) all those instruments
- share my outboard effects between multiple instruments without having to plug/unplug all the connections every time
bonus:
- using the console as a summing mixer, to get the benefits of faders/knobs in terms of ergonomicity, and why not, even in terms of sound (if I decide to use a particular summing stage)

Also, I'd like to point out that I only use my "studio" for myself, I don't intend to record other people, and the console will be placed in the same room as my instruments, that's why many facilities of the bigger consoles won't be on this (foldback, talkback, etc).

so this is my idea of how a single channel could be (I think it will have 16 mono channels and 6 stereo channels).
Since I don't need preamps, EQs and Dynamic processors (I will use them as outboard when needed), the entry points would be two simple line inputs (with +/-20dB trim on each input).
One input would be used by the instrument to be monitored/recorded, the other will be used as return from the DAW. A "monitor" switch will select the input, so for I should be able to monitor, record, overdub and mix, just flipping those switches on each channel.
A direct output is provided so that I can record the channel (either after the line input or after the insert, if I want to record the outboard processing too..).