New to DIY (PCB DESIGN)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akamoosh

Hello all,

As you can tell from the title I am new to DIY audio equipment. I have a question about PCB design. I want to build my own Tube Tech CL1B compressor. I have the actual schematics, but the schematics don't provide the design of the PCB (size, dimensions, spacing, etc). I did some research on if the actual design of the PCB influence the the sound quality of the audio device , and to my knowledge it does. So how would one design a PCB to behave identical to the PCB inside of the audio equipment I want to build, if I don't know exactly how the PCB is in the original? If im going about this all wrong please can you point me into the right direction.

Hello all,

As you can tell from the title I am new to DIY audio equipment. I have a question about PCB design. I want to build my own Tube Tech CL1B compressor. I have the actual schematics, but the schematics don't provide the design of the PCB (size, dimensions, spacing, etc). I did some research on if the actual design of the PCB influence the the sound quality of the audio device , and to my knowledge it does. So how would one design a PCB to behave identical to the PCB inside of the audio equipment I want to build, if I don't know exactly how the PCB is in the original? If im going about this all wrong please can you point me into the right direction.
Good practice for audio PCB's is making sure the lay out obeys the rule "ground follows signal", minimizing trace length, minimizing capacitive coupling between sensitive nodes, but "vintage" PCB's may not have had the same rules, because production methods had limitations, so you may find that a newly designed PCB may be objectively better than the vintage one, but would not sound exactly the same.