Nickel Plating Headgrille

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kingkorg

This stock gold color was driving me crazy, so I decided to try this out.

I used this video as a tutorial, and it worked out better than I expected.

It gave me even vintage, gun metal look that I wasn't expecting. I haven't even prepared the grille in any way besides cleaning it with alcohol. I had to rotate the grille a lot during the process to get even finish, and stir manually to get rid of bubbles. I did get some "dendrites" on the grille, but they were easy to remove, and under those the finish was as on the images. No polishing, or anything like that. I used 12v throughout the process.Screenshot_20230912_185548.jpg20230912_185402.jpg20230912_185225.jpg

So you plated nickel over the 'gold' of the headbasket?
I have no experience in plating, but I can imagine that nickel won't hold on any metal.
But I like the idea(!), because I also have some microphones with a 'gold' headbasket.
It is too much 'bling-bling' for me, maybe rappers will like it... :)

I have no experience in plating, but I can imagine that nickel won't hold on any metal.
But I like the idea(!), because I also have some microphones with a 'gold' headbasket.
It is too much 'bling-bling' for me, maybe rappers will like it... :)
Yup. There seems to be much chemistry involved, but it worked out great for me. Guess I was lucky. The bling factor was bothering me as well.20230914_132224.jpg

Last edited:
If my memory serves me right, copper is normally used as an intermediate layer for nickel plating on certain surfaces. Gold can also play this role, but it is not usually used for well-known reasons. It is much more expensive than copper.

I used this video as a tutorial, and it worked out better than I expected.