Random hiss that comes and goes with mic/cable position.

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

k brown

Has anyone else had this problem with their DIY mics?

No hum or buzz, but high frequency hiss that comes and goes depending on mic and/or it's cable's position in the room. As I wave the mic(s) around in random circles, the hiss appears, then disappears. If I hold the mic in a fixed position, but move the cable around - same thing. I've never experienced this before, and I've been building and modding mics for over 30 years.

Is this some sort of recent cell phone interference phenomenon? Do I have some sort of transmitter in my area? Wireless modem? Apple Time Machine?

The mics in question are recent builds, and haven't yet had an opportunity to test them away from home - but has anyone else had this kind of noise problem?

Could movement of the mic or cable be putting stress on a marginal joint in the connector assembly to the mic, or the cable itself perhaps?

Not a dodgy connection - the hiss smoothly fades in and out; doesn't instantly cut in and out like a loose connection.

Rf pickup? Inaudible oscillation at rf or ultrasonic from mic/cable preamp changing circuit bias somewhere in the chain? Do you have a scope or maybe record at high bandwidth/sample rate and look at spectrum?

This is probably RF noise from either a new cellular installation near you, or some of your own WiFi equipment (router, phone, WiFi extender etc.). I have done some troubleshooting of these types of issues and I highly recommend getting at least one mic cable with the Neutrik EMC connector on the female end. Plug that cable into your mic and see if the problems are still present.

My suspicion, as well - thanks for the suggestion.