[Solved] Behringer B1 (Brazil) - is this a fake/counterfeit B1?!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alema_o

Hi guys, thanks for having me in the forum, it's really great to read all the great posts, learn, and to be able to send some questions here.

I'm in a funny situation with a Behringer B1. A colleague had left his B1 mic with us about 5 years ago, because it was not working. We never did anything with it, but recently I started studying electronics and decided to bring it out to try to find a problem and fix it. After looking at it carefully, the components seemed to be all in a good condition visually, and I just remade the solder from the XLR to the board, because it was using a very thin line, and the 3rd pin had actually disconnected (not sure if it was in my hand). To my surprise, after redoing the solder, the mic worked and I was happy that I might have fixed it.

After some minutes of testing, I realised that the mic seems to "fade out" after using it for some seconds. It's as if it "charges" and works for a few seconds, and then it sort of "discharges" and the output level starts going down, until it has no sound. If we keep speaking on it, it does not recover, but if we stop speaking for about a minute, then the signal recovers and after a few seconds it starts fading out again.

Obviously, I want to find the fixes for this mic. But my problem is much stranger than that.

After analyzing the mic a lot, and then looking for info about its circuit on the internet, I realised that this mic has a very odd PCB, with big differences from the pictures and videos I found online.

I am sending some pictures attached to this post, so you guys can give me an opinion if this mic I have in my hands is fake/counterfeit, or what.

Here are the pictures of my B1: