Redox G36

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hfasher

Hello, I’m new to analogue gear but learning all the time.
I just bought (hasn’t arrived yet) a Revox G36 mk I. I want to send and record audio onto tape via my RME UFX interface. Mostly for Drums. Do I need some sort of audio transformer for the IO’s on the G36? I hear impedance is the issue here. Is there some sort of transformer I can use outside of the machine?
Appreciate your help.
Hugh

Last edited:
A real beauty. Just in case this post is read I can report that it works perfectly with the RME interface though I have the line input setting on low gain on the RME and I also don’t feed the g36 much level before I get distortion.

Attachments

• IMG_8164.MOV
    26.7 MB
  • 99E79570-81EE-4249-AC5F-C09C8799A055.jpeg
    99E79570-81EE-4249-AC5F-C09C8799A055.jpeg
    150.8 KB · Views: 33
On the input side you'll be fine.

In my experience, running the cathode follower outputs directly into a 20K line input of my mixer made it sound rather dark.
Using a couple of high Z inputs on a pre amp fixed that.

I made a single tube impedance buffer, now I can hook the outputs up to anything.

It's looking really good !.. you got a nice one, congratulations !

That does look like a nice one. That might be the same tech as Studer J series use by the Beatles. Remove the head cover, put it in bright sunlight, clean the lens of your phone with an alcohol wipe and take a good close up picture of the heads but at an angle such that you can see the flattened part of the heads. Then post that here. If the heads are in good shape, and it's possible looking at the rest of the machine, you should get some fresh lubricated tape. Might need to adjust the bias for perfection though. Would also make a good tape echo.

On the input side you'll be fine.