Some questions about the Sony C37a - mics with cathode follower

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rock soderstrom

Tour de France
I am currently studying tube microphone circuits with cathode followers, so I have some questions about this classic.

6.gif

1. does anyone here have a C37a in use? What do you prefer to use it for? Pros and Cons?

2. how high is B+?

3. what is the polarization voltage of the C-3 capsule and how is it supplied?

4. what is the transfer ratio of the output transformer?

Here you can find a lot of info and photos about the C37a.

https://www.coutant.org/sonyc37a/index.html
Cheers

Last edited:
My experience with cathode followers is there nearly impossible to distort , you get ultra high input z ( a multiple of the grid resistance value ),the grid volts are where you want them at for direct polarisation of the capsule ,
for higher level spl sources the CF ticks all the boxes for me , for vocals up close and personal anode load wins out unless you have a were wolf howling at the mic .

I always found it strange that anyone would wish for this sort of sound - weakest point here being the capsule IMO, but the CF dosen't add anything nice either. The selling point of this mic was apparently it's ability to drive looong mic cables...

Polarization looks like being at cathode-bias-level

Transformers and thus voltages are hinted at annotated image below. I love the hand-drawn company logo :)

/Jakob E.

man06.jpg

The 100M grid resistance appears much larger due to NFB , that means the capsules output voltage is higher at the grid , that helps offset the low gain of the CF to some degree .