Still learning design preamp with LTspice(Some help please)

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ForthMonkey

I'm still learning design with LTspice.I have idea.Transformer input and one op amp mic preamp.But op amp is discrete.It's like API Style.So i started with simple discrete op amp.

uroa~0.jpg

It's working good.But i won't make like 2520 op amp.I wwant to build only one circuit like discrete mic preamps...

Then i looked Forsell API Preamp.And i simulated it with LTspice.

It's circuit.Circuit uses 10K pot for gain.So i use 10K to measure full gain.

It's transient.Gain resistor:10K.

It's AC analysis.10mHz-10MHz.

Noise 10mHz-60MHz

What do you think?

Are there any DC voltages in there?

Your AC voltages "suggest" the DC conditions are good. But NEVER bet that SPICE is as smart as a pocketful of transistors. Always look for rational DC voltages throughout a circuit.

Also, since you are not limited by practical test gear, run the AC sweep from sub-Hz to many MHz. Many jellybean circuits are prone to 10MHz peaking even in simulation. On breadboard a good peak can become outright oscillation. OTOH, some circuits (probably not this one) can be peaky sub-sonic; one widely sold phono preamp had a good (bad) bump near 0.55Hz (warp-rate of a 33rpm LP).

Input voltage should be mic level (I use .0014v). Don't forget DC blocking caps either.

PRR made a good point about checking extended frequencies! (Something I never did but will now!).

That is a nasty bump. I though that the feedback cap would roll off the high end?

Indecline said:
Input voltage should be mic level (I use .0014v). Don't forget DC blocking caps either.

PRR made a good point about checking extended frequencies! (Something I never did but will now!).

That is a nasty bump. I though that the feedback cap would roll off the high end?