TL Audio 5013 ivory mods

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mOBiTh

Hi guys

Been lurking on this forum for a little while now and am completely chuffed I've found it as it's completely inspired me to get my scope and soldering iron out once more and start trying to build stuff, so thanks to you all for that!

I've had a fair amount of experience building audio kits and stuff over the years but my ed background is acoustics and dsp so the most complex analogue circuit I've designed from scratch to date is an active crossover! I've got a couple of bigger projects I really want to attempt but they both involve valves which I'm still learning about so will talk about them later...

In the mean time thought I'd ask whether anyone knows anything about or has ever tried to mod a TL Audio 5013 Ivory?

I just got hold of one for pennies so thought it might be fun to undress it and start cutting...

It seems people seem to have relatively bad things to say about tlaudio stuff without being overly specific. By the sounds of it they're built to a price and not a very cheap price is the US? I've seen this unit go for $999 which is a fair amount of cash for a potentially bland sounding box.

Are their actual circuit designs poor or is it the components they're using that let them down compared to other designs? Would swapping opamps/tubes/capacitors likely make a difference?

So where do you guys recommend I start? Should I take it apart and take some photos and identify some of the more important components and see what you think? Anyone seen a schematic?

Or am I completely wasting my time?!! I know there are far better things to be modifying but I wanna get my hands dirty on something I have to hand and can afford to destroy!

::)

Any help/advice greatly appreciated!

Cheers guys

Matt

Schemo is needed here !!!