tube mic pre build

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deveng

Gents,

Here's something I've been working on for a few months. It's working but still needs some massaging. First gain stage has more gain than necessary and it still suffers from a bit of hum. Wiring still is not committed and may need some movement to clean audio up a bit. Tested with RMAA and it looks pretty good already. Frequency response is +/- 0.5 dB from 10Hz to 35kHz. Total gain is close to 60dB. The tube circuit is nothing spectacular or new. Basically a simple 2 stage 12ax7 feeding a 12bh7 follower. Jensen JT115k input transformer and a Jensen JT10k61 output transformer wired series at 4:1. Distortion is max 0.3% at full gain and just under 0.2% at lower gains. I'd like to drop these numbers if I can with this amount of gain in 2 stages and the topology used. IMD is higher than I'd like as well but I'll check on this after I lower the overall gain and clean up the hum issue. It's a MosFET/zener regulated B+ at 275v, regulated 12v filament, buffered VU (see "VU meter buffer" thread). The relays are setup for phase, 20dB pad and phantom.

tubemicpre.jpg

vt100_guts.jpg

regards,
Jeff

I pulled the first stage cathode bypass cap and added a power supply decoupling cap (with regulated B+ I thought I could get away with it). Total gain now is roughly 54dB and THD+noise dropped to 0.2% at 3/4 to full gain and down to 0.1% at lower gains. Hum is significantly lower but still slightly audible so I still have some work to do here. I expect when I reduce hum even further the noise spec will improve. IMD+noise dropped significantly more than than the THD. Its still has plenty of gain and can bring an SM57 up to recording levels without pushing the gain pot up much past 1/3.