Where do people go for speaker projects?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ccaudle

There don't seem to be many speaker projects on GDIY. The forums at Madisound are gone now, so where do people go to discuss speaker ideas or get recommendations for drivers? DIYAudio? Some other speaker focused forum?
I have a speaker project idea I would like to work on this summer, but a quick scan of Madisound is all it takes for me to know there are way too many drivers available for me to just start going over datasheets without some starting guidance from some people who have been building recently.

Diyaudio seems to have a lot of info. I also started looking for projects this year.

There are some excellent stickied threads with lists of projects, advice, common questions answered etc.

Bear in mind I'm a beginner with speaker building so I'm not able to judge the quality of the info as well as someone more experienced

I would like to believe I'm not the only one here that builds speakers. I got tired of all the superstition and audiophoolery at diyaudio, the atmosphere is so much better here at groupdiy.
You could post your idea and some of us might be able to help?

Cheers, V

I have a speaker project idea I would like to work on this summer.....

Two magazines Klang+Ton and Hobby HiFi are still published in Europe (Germany), where you can find a lot of interesting projects, information and analysis of speaker drivers. (Note: These magazines are in German and are not free.)

https://klangundton-magazin.de/http://www.hobby-hifi.de/
Speaker kits and parts:

https://www.lautsprechershop.de/hifi/journal_klang_und_ton.htm
P.S. I think you should have asked this question in the Drawing Board, you would probably get more suggestions, and there are certainly more members here who know quite a bit about speakers.