Yamaha PM-1000 power supply question

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattvon

Hi all, relative newbie here.  I've just undertaken a Yamaha PM-1000 channel strip racking project and am now considering my power supply options.  I've seen a lot of guys use a Power One 48v supply, but the model I've seen specified most often has been discontinued (I'm guessing 'cause it's non-ROHS)...

So I started digging around online and found this:
http://www.mpja.com/48-Volt-Power-Supply-500mA-25W-Switching-Hengfu/productinfo/18445%20PS/

I really like the price but wonder if I'm missing something.  I was planning on using the "string-of-diodes" approach to drop the voltage to 44v for the module, and running the phantom off the power supply as is.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this?  Am I far off base or would this power supply work for me?  I've read a number of threads and think the 500ma would be sufficient for powering two channel strips, but I'm completely open to advice from those who've had experience...

Thanks very much in advance!

Matt

When you look at the picture you will see an orange trimmer beside the green LED.  With this trimmmer you should be able to adjust the output voltage.  But I wouldn´t use a SMPS for audio applications.  At least I would add some additional LC-filtering.

Mouser shows stock:

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/International-Power/IHB48-05/?qs=%2fha2pyFaduiq4vg1iEXiYs0eTlhKJQHMkAMQnswFwy8%3d

Bri

Just racked a pair of PM1000. Used s 48V SMPSU, which gave me phantom and dropped to 44V using a jlm trex. Had no hash in the audio output.

Thanks for the reply...could you share which 48v SMPS you used?  Was it the one from JLM here:  http://www.jlmaudio.com/shop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=80 ?