Your DIY Project - 2007

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

glide 1

Hi all,

It would be nice to know what DIY projects everyone plans to do for the comming year. I'm really a newb to DIY but have learned a LOT from my first project making the G1176. I look forward to next year with new and more challenging projects........definitly got the bug!!

My personnal project for next year is "The Strip".

A basic design (i hope) that will be a single channel box consisting of a mic pre, high pass filter, high and low shelving eq's (passive?), and lastly a compressor. I plan to use DIY boards available here exclusively.

The reason for building 1 is because i do the occasional FOH/live gig (freelance) ones or twice a month and it is very refreshing to be able to work outside of the studio once in a while. However, we are not always presented with the ideal equipment and setups on a given day, and equipment/setups change from show to show. So having a "magic" box like this will probably bail me out of trouble one day. :)

I would use it mainly for vocals bacause a good vocal sound is the most challenging for me to achieve in live shows. I'm hoping this channel strip will help me get better quality vocal sounds not only for live work but also double as a quick go-to-box for vioce over, demo type stuff recording in the studio.

*mic pre - a few come to mind, fabio's api, JLM Baby Animal, G9, etc..

*filter - this i am not sure of yet and i would have to research.

*eq - i'm thinking a simple, passive, high and low shelving for this. I would imagine a high gain pre amp would be needed here.

*compressor - G1176. I have built these and i think they are wonderful..