Which projects?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SebCarr1982

Hi All,

So, my name's Seb and I've been lurking here on and off for some time, and am looking at taking on a couple of projects but, honestly, it's such rich pickings these days I am totally spoilt for choice. I'm bad at making decisions at the best of times...

Now I've done lots of research and searching - so this isn't a case of "who makes kit x/where do I buy y" - but one of "What on earth do I build first?" and well, I always like talking about this sort of thing before jumping in.

I'm not a complete novice; I've built a few stompboxes (various homebrew distortion, shonky octaver), an Ampmaker SE-5a (single ended 5w valve guitar amp), and an Oakley TB3030 (Roland TB303 synth clone-ish - which is currently lurking in my parents' garage, broken - but soon to be fixed).

I want some bits to augment my home recording setup (Mac, Logic, Apogee Duet), and am very much a fan of getting the sound right on the way in. To that end, I think an interesting pre, EQ, and compressor must be pretty high up my list.

My first thought is Neve. 1074/1084 alikes. I've actually never used a Neve anything, but they're so steeped in audio folklore that I feel I should. Which begs the question which 1073/1084/1290? EZ1073 looks great, but lacks a low pass which is something I find really useful when recording distorted guitars. EZ1084 looks great and is fully featured, but takes up a whole rack on its own, and I'm really short on space (Well, more to the point, the girlfriend will kick off if I fill the flat with large boxes. To the extent that 1u half racks are right on the money, but I can't find a source for them in the UK). The Neve EQs also cost a big chunk o' money to build. Are they worth it?