rackmonkey

A-10 clone from Crimson Transformers
« on: June 10, 2020, 06:22:11 PM »
Came across this randomly on ebay. An A-10 reproduction from Crimson.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Crimson-Audio-Transformers-CT-A10-UTC-A-10-equivalent/124186059462?hash=item1cea10e2c6:g:srIAAOSwGPdeuxyD

Crimson have been around forever, and I own a couple of the SM-57 bodies w/different transformers in them they've made for ages. I also own a couple of DI transformers from them. All are good products.

I sent a message to John, the owner, asking how he went about it without the original lams (or if he managed to find some old stock). This was his response:

Hi Bryan,

The original lamination is certainly not available to me (and I don't think anyone else and I've been making transformers since 1978) and that has always been a huge problem in making a clone. The physical size and shape of the lamination is inextricably tied to the resistance and inductance in any transformer. In my mind and experience, the relationship between those 2 define the sonic nature of a transformer more than anything else outside of the actual turns ratio.

We found a way to modify a standard lamination, and together with a custom winding form, create a "package" that has almost exactly the same length per individual turn as the original. With that in hand, we needed to combine it with the other inhabitants of transformer world - materials and manufacturing techniques - in the right mix to come up with something that could duplicate the original. It took a lot of calculations and too many protos checked against the original to count, but we were finally able to match the T/R, FR curve, THD, inductance and resistance of the original.very, very closely. The A series contains elements of almost everything I have ever learned about transformers and transformer construction. I'm pretty sure it's one of those "I had to go there before I could get here" kind of things for me.