Box that allows guitar pedals to interface with mixer. A couple of questions...

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tillmann

GDIY Supporter
I'm trying to find an elegant way of interfacing some relatively high quality effects pedals meant mainly for guitars with mixers.  The idea is to be able to use the pedals as effects either on an insert or on an aux or group bus for delays and reverbs and the like.  I am by no means a designer, but after a bit of a search here, I've not discovered anything here relating to this.  It all seems to be an issue of impedance to me unless there is something that I don't understand.  I want to take a moderately low impedance signal at line level and turn it into a high impedance signal at instrument level.  Then run it through the pedals, and then turn it back into a line level signal to go back into the mixer.  If I am not mistaken, mixer standards dictate that inserts are usually done unbalanced and aux and group busses are usually balanced, so that would have to be taken into consideration in the design of my proposed box.  Perhaps this is a taller order than I understand, but below were my ideas in regards to features and signal flow:

The Pedal Master

-Line In (¼” TRS or TS)  ---> 3-way selectable attenuation switch ---> transformer (raises impedance to instrument level) ---> Hi-Z Out (1/4” TS)

signal goes into desired pedals and comes out and then into:

Hi-Z In (1/4” TS) ---> Gain control (variable make up gain circuit) ---> transformer (drops impedance to line level) ---> Line Out (1/4” TRS or TS)

First off, is there a product out there already that I don't know of that does this already?  if not...
Does this path seem feasible or am I way off?  If I'm not way off:
Should the attenuation circuit be pre or post transformer?
Should the gain control circuit be pre or post transformer? Or: