[BUILD] Hairball Audio "Lola" Mic Pre - On Sale Now

Help Support GroupDIY:

Matgre

Member
Joined
May 5, 2019
Messages
6
Location
Freiburg, Germany
Hi all,

just finished my first Lola, looks, works and sounds great! Just having a little meter issue in PPM mode, not sure if it even is one..
In VU mode the meter reads as it should with the voltages stated in the manual (5th white led with 0,869VAC at XLR Out across pin 2 and 3 and 1st orange (0dB) led with 1,25VAC).
When switching to PPM at 0,869VAC, the meter lights up to the 2nd orange instead to the 1st like the manual says. I have to lower the output to 0,830VAC to light up till 1st orange.

Does this sound like something is messed up (tripple checked, didnt find anything wierd) or could it be just a tolerance thing.

Thanks for any suggestions,
Mat


 

Attachments

  • IMG_7673.jpg
    IMG_7673.jpg
    306.4 KB · Views: 6

JigsawSound

New member
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
2
Hi! My Lola always worked fine (love it) but now something is wrong. When I power up my lunchbox all is well. Signal is good but after a couple of minutes it starts to crackle and the signal almost dies. If I crank it all the way up there still is some signal coming thru (meter shows it as well).
Tried different slots and lunchboxes but that's not the problem.

Any idea what might be wrong?

Thanks!

Robin
 

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
JigsawSound said:
Hi! My Lola always worked fine (love it) but now something is wrong. When I power up my lunchbox all is well. Signal is good but after a couple of minutes it starts to crackle and the signal almost dies. If I crank it all the way up there still is some signal coming thru (meter shows it as well).
Tried different slots and lunchboxes but that's not the problem.

Any idea what might be wrong?

Thanks!

Robin

Do you have any spare op-amps you could try?

Mike
 

lame_turtle

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
37
Hey,

My lola started crackling after a while when using phantom, I unfortunately kept on using it till today, when I turned on my lunchbox all the buttons lit up kind of more purple than blue, of course no sound just a strange whine. The relay works since I can listen to her clicking when inserting a jack. Please if you have any idea from where I should start debugging this ??

edit:The buttons do not light up anymore when I press em except the phase button.
 

Potato Cakes

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
1,886
Location
Nashville, TN
Check to see if any of the connections to phantom power is shorting somewhere else. If it was totally fine without phantom power turned on then I would look downstream of the switch. You'll have to play follow the copper trace, which is always a delight...

Thanks!

Paul
 

lame_turtle

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
37
Second thing I'll have to follow the copper this month, and they are both not fixed yet haha :p

Thank you very much Paul
 

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
lame_turtle said:
Second thing I'll have to follow the copper this month, and they are both not fixed yet haha :p

Thank you very much Paul

Weird.  Could be a failed phantom cap or switch.  We repair those for pretty cheap.

https://www.hairballaudio.com/build-support-services
 

lame_turtle

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
37
Hairball Audio said:
Weird.  Could be a failed phantom cap or switch.  We repair those for pretty cheap.

https://www.hairballaudio.com/build-support-services

Unfortunately I'm in europe so this wouldn't be really easy.

One of the 990 gets hotter while the unit is on. I checked the switches and they are good. I'll try tracing the phantom caps to see if something is wrong there.
 

lame_turtle

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
37
Ok after changing almost everything on the lola, two relays fixed the whole problem. Everything is working as expected, except the two switches do not light up. Are the leds inside burned or could the culprit be somewhere else ? the phantom works and lights up fine.
 

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
lame_turtle said:
Ok after changing almost everything on the lola, two relays fixed the whole problem. Everything is working as expected, except the two switches do not light up. Are the leds inside burned or could the culprit be somewhere else ? the phantom works and lights up fine.

Either that or a bad pad/solder joint around the around the phase switch.
 

lame_turtle

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
37
Hairball Audio said:
Either that or a bad pad/solder joint around the around the phase switch.

They used to work, so I guess it's the led. Can you post or even pm me the part number for those ? It seems really difficult to find them.
 

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
lame_turtle said:
They used to work, so I guess it's the led. Can you post or even pm me the part number for those ? It seems really difficult to find them.

Shoot us an email, I'll send you some.
 

Fuzz Face

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
142
Location
Anaheim
lame_turtle said:
Hey, I've already sent several emails. Can you please contact me ? I really need those switches asap.
Have you tried requesting your parts through this page?

https://www.hairballaudio.com/form/request-a-missing-part

Hairball were super quick to get my missing parts out using this page
 

lame_turtle

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2017
Messages
37
Fuzz Face said:
Have you tried requesting your parts through this page?

https://www.hairballaudio.com/form/request-a-missing-part

Hairball were super quick to get my missing parts out using this page

It was some missunderstanding with the email not comming through or me not getting them . thankfully solved and parts are on the way. Great support
 

JigsawSound

New member
Joined
Sep 7, 2016
Messages
2
It's been a while:) But one of the op-amps is indeed busted. Can't see what's wrong with it though.


Hairball Audio said:
Do you have any spare op-amps you could try?

Mike
 

Pran

New member
Joined
Oct 21, 2013
Messages
4
Hi!

I just built a pair. On one of them the meter only seems to work in PPM mode - when I switch it to VU I get nothing. Everything looks good on the board I think. Does anybody have any ideas?

They're both sounding great and I love them otherwise!
 

Latest posts

Top