DIY-Racked DR-609 build...

Help Support GroupDIY:

BerndVP

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
76
Location
Belgium
Yeah, it's really wierd.
So how it happend:
I trimmed the 24V -+ on the PSU.
Put it in the case connected the Channel PCB without any IC's or AMP in it.
Connected the VU meter en VU LED to the PCB and turned it on.
The LED of the VU went on for a few seconds and then went out.
I measured the voltage of on the Channel PCB and had nothing.

When measuring the resistance of the Primary windings, one of the two didn't gave anything anymore.
 

BerndVP

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
76
Location
Belgium
Please don't kill me, still learning a lot of electronics.

So, now with the Neve Calibration manual I'm trying it.

So everything is fine untill Compressor calibration, Limiter is tuned.

When I do a gain make-up on the Compressor, The signal on the output is not getting up.
 

lennieh

New member
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
3
Quick question for folk that have built this.

Which rotary switch did you use for the 24 step THD switch?
 

schrobbelbop

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 7, 2010
Messages
133
Location
Eindhoven, Netherlands
As with the other diy-racked kits support and manuals aren't great
my kit worked very first time and calibrated it with their v1 manual
i had to do it multiple times and used a little of my own feel because not
all measurements where able to get. but hey it sounds really great,
mine is loaded with carnhill transformers. dead quiet. creamy buttery soundwise.
 

ron_swanson

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
136
Location
San Francisco, USA
lennieh said:
Quick question for folk that have built this.

Which rotary switch did you use for the 24 step THD switch?

Are you referring to the Threshold switch? 

I used what was indicated in the BOM... A ELMA 04-1130.  Is there a reason why you don't want or can't use this switch?  Arguably, this switch is on the expensive side, but it is quality.

Cheers!
 

BerndVP

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 28, 2020
Messages
76
Location
Belgium
At the end, mine is fully working now, it was an AMP340 with some bad transistors on it...
Matched the ZENER DIODES that I forgot to do.

Working beautiful as I speak.
 

lennieh

New member
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
3
ron_swanson said:
Are you referring to the Threshold switch? 

I used what was indicated in the BOM... A ELMA 04-1130.  Is there a reason why you don't want or can't use this switch?  Arguably, this switch is on the expensive side, but it is quality.

Cheers!
The v1.1 BOM didn't specify a particular switch. I got a pair of a pair of Blore Edwards switches. But cheaper than the Elias and very sexy looking...
 

ron_swanson

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
136
Location
San Francisco, USA
lennieh said:
The v1.1 BOM didn't specify a particular switch. I got a pair of a pair of Blore Edwards switches. But cheaper than the Elias and very sexy looking...

lennieh,

Ah, my build is a v1.0. Unfortunately, I bought my PCB's just weeks before DIY-Racked released their v1.1 update.

That aside, Blore-Edwards is solid quality.

Cheers
 
Last edited:

Egprod

Member
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
8
Location
FRANCE
Hi
On AMP340, Q1 Q2 and Q3 is TO39 draw on PCB

But BC184C and BC214C is a TO92

Someone have a picture of his AMP340 ? what is the orientation of the transistor ?


Regards
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20210604_112230_resized_20210604_060711044.jpg
    IMG_20210604_112230_resized_20210604_060711044.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_20210604_112055_resized_20210604_113049562.jpg
    IMG_20210604_112055_resized_20210604_113049562.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 22

ron_swanson

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
136
Location
San Francisco, USA
This is the only photo I have of the innards of my build... hopefully this will helps...

Cheers!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0341.jpg
    IMG_0341.jpg
    240.1 KB · Views: 23

Egprod

Member
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
8
Location
FRANCE
Hi, next question :

For the comp Attack switch,
On the manual : SPDT ON/OFF/ON

But on a front panel is only '' Fast and Slow ''

It's a mistake ? It's two SPDT ON/ON switch or what's the center possition ?

Best
 

brewbacca

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 5, 2013
Messages
77
Hi all, I finally got my boards for this after ordering at the end of February. I'm in the process of building them and hit the point where I wired the PS to one of the boards. I'm noticing that the LEDs are getting -24V/Gnd. Is that correct?

Also kind of wondering about Egprod's question above..
 

ron_swanson

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
136
Location
San Francisco, USA
Hi, next question :

For the comp Attack switch,
On the manual : SPDT ON/OFF/ON

But on a front panel is only '' Fast and Slow ''

It's a mistake ? It's two SPDT ON/ON switch or what's the center possition ?

Best
I guess technically a on-off-on would have a center position with no connection. I used a on-on with no issues.
 

ron_swanson

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 14, 2018
Messages
136
Location
San Francisco, USA
Hi all, I finally got my boards for this after ordering at the end of February. I'm in the process of building them and hit the point where I wired the PS to one of the boards. I'm noticing that the LEDs are getting -24V/Gnd. Is that correct?

Also kind of wondering about Egprod's question above..
Im guessing you have the newer 1.1 boards? My build was a 1.0 and in that build the documentation was in error where the LEDs were shown to be wired backwards. Can’t say how that may or may not apply to the newer boards. Hopefully that issue was fixed. Hope this helps some.
 

Latest posts

Top