EL84 triode mode

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KLDVOX

i am not an electronics expert so i hope someone can explain how to wire a pentode as a triode. any info would be apreciated folks.

In essence, it's very simple, you put the two additional grids (G2+G3) of the pentode on anode potential, which essentially turns it into a triode. Sometimes this doesn't work because G3 is connected directly to the cathode internally (e.g EL84), so connect only G2 to the anode and you have a quasi triode.
Screenshot 2023-11-29 at 23-43-57 EL84 - EL84.pdf.png

Last edited:
check this, good example for the EL84. The resistor between the switch and the valve is the so called screen grid resistor for pentode mode. It doesn't bother your tube in triode mode, you do not need it for an only triode mode pentode.

5W-Tube-Amplifier-Circuit-with-EL84.jpg

I have an EL84 based amp I modified with triode/pentode switching
I used a dual pole switch to connect g2 to the anode and cut in a different value of cathode bias resistance in parrallel with the existing value , to better suit triode mode .

Using a transformer designed for an EL84 single ended pentode wont get the best out of a triode , so its always going to be a compromise
maybe a tapped primary winding could allow better triode /pentode switching ,

On another EL84 based SE triode amp I have G2 connected directly , I found its happy with 220v at the plate but not much more.

In essence, it's very simple, you put the two additional grids (G2+G3) of the pentode on anode potential, which essentially turns it into a triode. Sometimes this doesn't work because G3 is connected directly to the cathode internally (e.g EL84), so connect only G2 to the anode and you have a quasi triode.
View attachment 117845
thanks for the info. your explantion is crystal clear and helpful