Frontpanel express pricing

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

desol

Just thought i'd put this out there guys. I spent a week or so laying out a frontpanel in frontpanel express, not really knowing the software that well, but nonetheless, i hacked my way through it. In the end, the frontpanel looks great(i think:), the only problem was the price. $204.00! I thought...i can see how one off's would be a little more expensive but this is ridiculous.

So...

After fooling around with the software a bit and speaking with some more knowledgable folks, it turned out that there was ALOT i was doing wrong from a cost effective standpoint.

First off, when using Frontpanel express you want everything to be in HPGL engravings/.plt format. Bear with me, i'm no expert. My particular layout was full of 'individual' objects which are ridiculously expensive in terms of the tooling used, changed, etc. After spending some time using various configurations and seeing the price differences, i think it's pretty safe to say that the cost effectiveness realized for your project is single-handedly affected by your ablilty to use the software efficiently.

I'm just estimating now, but from what i can sort of figure, the cost of this panel, just because of using HPGL engravings, etc...is going to go from $204 to roughly $120(or less). Yet both schemes look identical..

There's alot you can do with the software, to make your panel more affordable..

Cheers,
D.

madriaanse said:
Nice discovery!! So do you design 1:1 scale in Corel and convert to HPGL? What about drilled holes?

Thanks,

M.