I like transformers

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I'm a retired EE living in the PNW. When I had to work for a living, I designed a lot of power (iron and ferrite cored) transformers, but no audio transformers. Since I retired I can analyze whatever I want. I have become interested in researching the work on audio transformers that was done at Bell Telephone Laboratories over a hundred years ago. The improvements in audio transformers and audio inductors those engineers made during the first half of the 20th century is amazing.

As a result of having been involved with some startup companies, I have come into possession of a fair amount of test equipment. In particular my need to measure transformers has left me with several high-end LCR/Impedance analyzer meters and I'll show some interesting measurements.

I don't have a lot of high-end audio equipment, but I have a friend who has been a Pro audio engineer, and he has a lot of audio transformers which I borrow from him to make measurements. I have also bought some items just make measurements.

Last edited:
hello from Aintree, uk. im sure you will have many here picking your brain. myself included.

I'm a retired EE living in the PNW. When I had to work for a living, I designed a lot of power (iron and ferrite cored) The improvements in audio transformers and audio inductors those engineers made during the first half of the 20th century is amazing... I don't have a lot of high-end audio equipment, but I have a friend who has been a Pro audio engineer, and he has a lot of audio transformers which I borrow from him to make measurements. I have also bought some items just make measurements.