Imperial stock vs metric thread cutting

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MagnetoSound

I’m a novice when it comes to metalwork and could use some help from the experts with a basic question on tolerances.

I plan to build a microphone using 1” (25.4mm) aluminium tube for the external housing. (I chose this size partly for aesthetic reasons, but also because I was able to order it with the exact internal diameter I require.)

However, the connector I plan to use has a metric M25 x 1.0 thread, so I would like to be able to thread the outside of the aluminium tube using the corresponding die. I’m confident that the tube has enough wall thickness to support the thread, but before I order the tools I would like to be sure that the die is not going to bind on the tube, or maybe even refuse to fit at all.

So my question is, will I be able to do this without first milling the tube, or will that 0.4mm be enough to cause problems?

TIA for any insight.

Last edited:
The extra .4mm will be enough that the die won't even start onto the tubing. The basic major diameter of a given male thread size is usually spec'd as being the nominally stated diameter, which will achieve standard 75% thread depth. You can go very slightly larger on the outside diameter and achieve a higher percentage of thread, which will *usually* still be okay. Complete thread tables will specify nominal, absolute minimum and absolute major diameters, and thread tolerance class. Permissible maximum diameter on something in the 1" range is usually only about .010"/.25mm above nominal at most, which will yield a sufficiently high percentage of thread as to be problematic in some cases.