LL1515 on a micpre, anyone?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theaterguy

Hello everyone, an old newbie here.

I'd like to build a simple micpre, like this:

https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=...mers.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/as064.pdf

I have couple Lundahl LL1515's but there is no datasheet available. It is a microphone input trafo, 1+1:7 (200 ohm : 10k). Primary series/parallel? Some 10-60k resistor between secondary? I have a schematics where LL1515 is feeding a differential 5534 pair but I don't want to go that route.

kajaani.png

The rest is easy, I have PSU's with phantom and so on already.

Seems like a solid plan. Assuming you're using the SSM2017 or similar (INA217?) per that whitepaper or something similar I'd personally wire the primary parallel, unless you specifically plan on using it with low output mics.
In addition to the load resistor it might be worth experimenting with a zobel. Obviously the datasheet is not available but Lundahl states "for replacements, please study LL1530 or LL1576" and they recommend a zobel of 10k/220pf for the former in 1:3.5 and (seemingly) 30k/220pf for the latter.

Seems like a solid plan. Assuming you're using the SSM2017 or similar (INA217?) per that whitepaper or something similar I'd personally wire the primary parallel, unless you specifically plan on using it with low output mics.
In addition to the load resistor it might be worth experimenting with a zobel. Obviously the datasheet is not available but Lundahl states "for replacements, please study LL1530 or LL1576" and they recommend a zobel of 10k/220pf for the former in 1:3.5 and (seemingly) 30k/220pf for the latter.
ok. Or should I just double those cap and resistor values shown in the differential schema?

I suggest that the scheme shown posits a performance increase to an existing input stage using SSM2017 or similar.