My first mix to make it to TV!!

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lowfreq

Well this is a first for me....... A band I tracked and mixed, got some airplay on our music channel here in NZ, and I got to see it this evening. The band let me know it'd be on tonight.

And it didn't suck ;D........................... In fact, I was pleasantly suprised

I teach guitar to earn a buck or two, and I'm not a pro engineer at all, so it's quite daunting knowing something you mixed is gonna be alongside all the big budget stuff. I've always just done demos.

I've been through the home studio thing so many times, when you think your mix sounds great until you compare it to something done by the big boys, leaving you to hang your head in shame :'( ..... too many times I tell you, too many.....I should really upgrade from my Alesis monitors sometime..............sometimes it hard to tell your head from your arse with these

I was getting quite nervous just watching........ getting more nervous as each video played............
"Is my mix gonna sound like poo?"....... "Will it have that small closed up sound, compared to everything else?".... 

One more big rock production came on before my mix. Same style, same kind of band.......... "Oh crap, this sounds really good.....why couldn't they have something far removed, like something acoustic indie or something".........
it's like that feeling you get when you have to sing next, and the person before you has just torn it up with an amazing voice and performance............... I aways prefer it when whoever sings first is.......well.........um........ 'below average' ::)

Then came my mix.................. and blow me down if it didn't sound as big and juicy as what I'd just heard already!!
No 'little' sound....... no 'home studio' sound.............I was stunned.............