SSL 9000J channel strip racking

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

victlamchl

This is a noob question probably. I'm racking a pair of SSL 9k channel strips recently, and I need some help on the PSU. The strip require the following voltages
-25V
+48V
-20V
+20V
+8V
Could anyone suggest a PSU that could power it up? This is my first time racking channel strips. Any help is appreciated! Thank you!

Working with high voltage electronics and altering equipment like channel strips can be dangerous if not done correctly. It's crucial to only trust qualified personnel with relevant experience and knowledge to handle the power supply for your SSL 9k units.

Thanks you, i actually printed this thread its gold! In it tho keith doesnt mention anything about cutting, this is why im wondering! In other threads there is talks about cutting the pcb

I don't think you need to cut the pcbs - they are separate pieces already. You just need to cut down the entire face to fit in a 19" rack. I have a handful of 9000J channel strips that I want to eventually cut down like this, too.

Yea theres 2 pieces the lower and upper pcb! Im pretty sure the gentlemen Keith Andrews wouldve mentioned at the beginning of that thread that we needed to cut the pcb!! Im just trying to double check! Im going to be racking 4 of these suckers😎

You're right - there is some cutting involved - below is a picture with the cut lines marked. You could leave the channel intact, but then you would need a large frame to mount the unit in.

The racked images from Proharmonic below, show that the routing cards have been removed and covered with a matching face plate. It looks like part of the routing card section was also cut off, probably to keep the length to fit in the rack.

Screen Shot 2024-03-06 at 2.40.51 PM.png

Screen Shot 2024-03-06 at 2.46.15 PM.png