The most versatile preamp EVER

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

michal_k

Ladies and Gentleman,
I give the most versatile preamp you've ever seen:

but more seriously, recently I started wondering why people in here seem to prefer to buy PCBs from our (awesome) forum designers than rolling something unique on their own. I'm watching diy stompbox community and lots and lots of people try the circuits on perfboard first and swap some components to make it sound unique.
is studio gear so much more complicated that 'moding' is too difficult?
I'm rather new to recording and studio equipment and I've also built some preamps with premade PCBs, convenient partlists etc, but I realised how easy it is to try your own ideas supposing you have 51x rack or even regular power supply and 51x connector. I hope that writting it all here will motivate me to work in that direction btw :)

Anyway, I'm curious what you guys think about building unique pieces of gear. Perhaps lots more of people do this but they just don't show the results?

m.

ps. I'll probably order some of that universal 51x boards so if anybody is interested than write me a pm.

--------------

estimated price is 10EU per PCB if we reach 50 pieces, 9EU for 100+ pieces.

I'll make a GB thread in black market as soon as I recieve a prototype and confirm that PCBs look nice.

these were available before though only 15 contacts on the edge.
might still be available on the pico forum

really good idea
plated holes for durability
less paint-by numbers
bring back diy

can i suggest more than one pad on the end of each "finger" - like silent-arts / jeff's card edge sticks...

makes it easier when i comes to power supply, 0v etc connections...