Transformer options for passive DI

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beegandy

Hi all,

I'm wanting to build a passive DI for line-level high-output sources (keyboards, SPDs, drum machines, ect.). I'm aware of the usual options for transformers for passive DI's but I'm not sure why I should choose one over another. For this project the transformer will need to be PCB mountable and ideally as small as possible. Any schematics or tips for such a build would also be appreciated as I'm fairly new to this!

Some options I've shortlisted are:
- Jensen Jt-db-epc
- Lundahl LL1530
- Lundhal LL1531 (smaller size)
- OEP A187A10C

Cheers!

- Jensen Jt-db-epc
Probably the best of the lot because of its dual shield.
- Lundahl LL1530
Not a bad second choice
- Lundhal LL1531 (smaller size)
Not suitable, it's a 1:1 line input xfmr
- OEP A187A10C
Run away from it! OEP have acquired the rights to the brand names of Carnhill, Marinair and Sowter but they haven't kept any of the guys who can design audio xfmrs.

I'm not sure why I should choose one over another.
A DI will step down the signal to mic level. Do you want to step down to mic level? The Jensen Jt-db-epc will be a 12:1 step down for instance.
Or are you trying to isolate and balance but stay at line level? For instance, if you have a unbalanced line out you could use a line level transformer to balance and use for a line level input.

Thanks for your replies everyone.

A DI will step down the signal to mic level. Do you want to step down to mic level? The Jensen Jt-db-epc will be a 12:1 step down for instance.
Or are you trying to isolate and balance but stay at line level? For instance, if you have a unbalanced line out you could use a line level transformer to balance and use for a line level input.