Unemployed Again

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

walter

The project got cancelled, so my contract was terminated. I am an electronics technician and this is a volatile industry. I had been working as an Engineering tech. The last project had me learning how to program an Arduino to control an automated test fixture. I guess that used up all my brain cells because I was unable to describe what I used an o-scope for during an interview last week. I have used an o-scope a couple times in the last two years, so I am definitely not up to speed. I had two painfully agonizing interviews where they ask, repeatedly, and know what they want to hear, and I just can't give them the answer. As an Engineering tech I performed whatever task was thrown at me, so I never really did one thing long enough to be an expert at talking about it. The last interview was unbelievable. They liked my resume, and didn't know what to ask. Another Engineering tech position. It seems like it's more about personality than qualifications. The personality of the interviewer. Next week I'm interviewing for a company that does deep space mining. I did not know about that industry. Probably volatile...

Working with automated test should be good electronics industry experience.

Engineers are notorious for having bad communication skills while a technician who supports those engineers needs to communicate effectively.

I feel like unemployment for skilled workers is lower than unskilled. It also helps being willing to relocate to where the jobs are. Many businesses have opening for skilled workers that they can not fill.

Good luck

JR