6922/E88CC as impedance converter in microphones?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rock soderstrom

Tour de France
What are your experiences with this type of tube as an impedance converter in microphones?

There are some well-known microphones that work with it, but there are also many people who advise against it. What do you think? I would possibly want to use them as a CF. How well does this tube cope with high Rg? Is it perhaps better to use b2b diodes for this?

I think Rode K2 uses that, and the EMI REDD mic with an extra EF86. Not a big fan either of them, K2 sounds very sterile.
I used the Rode K2 for a long time, but it's not my favourite microphone either. I don't know whether this is due to the tube or the rest of the SS circuitry. The K2 doesn't have a transformer either...

The AT4060 also uses this tube, I think as WCF(?). I have no experience with it, but I know people who like it.

Last edited:
I have limited experience in this area, but the InnerTube Mag Mic MM2000/MM2006 uses an ECC88. I did a little looking when I had to debug mine (it ended up being fixed by drying out the capsule - Stayne was helpful) and it looked like it was a classic plate loaded transformer output. Most of the circuitry was potted and I didn't see markings on the transformer when I had things out.

The modern Innertube Audio, Tube 87 insert uses it as well. It’s a mic that when you raise the fader, the vocal jumps to the front of the mix.

Makes for an interesting comparison with a Sony C800G. Definitely in the same family, with the Neumann displaying that classic midrange cut/authority, while the Sony is relaxed in that area, but with an extended high end.

@rock soderstrom

What are your experiences with this type of tube as an impedance converter in microphones?