Active dynamic microphone project

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clbzh

Hello,
I would like to build an active dynamic microphone.
To amplify a didgeridoo in an acoustic trance band.
I have already modified an sm57, first by replacing the transformer with a Tab T58 (magic experience with this new configuration, I highly recommend).
Then I tried the Shure R45 cartridge, we are getting closer.

Now I would like to try something more special for him.
I already have a Shure R115 cartridge. I would like to adapt it to an active transformerless circuit powered by phantom power.
I want maximum bandwidth, minimum distortion and good harmonic response. Balanced and around 200ohms output.
Familiar with a few DIY projects, but I'm no electronics expert.
I am looking for information on solid state amplification, impedance matching, possibly a switchable multi amplification and/or correction eq (if necessary i don't know).
Your opinions on relevance, feasibility and your experiences are welcome.

best regards

Whatever electronics you use it will introduce distortion and limit max spl. Only thing you might gain is less noise and the mic will be less affected by the pramp used. Don't know how important this is for live use. Simplest and probably most cost/time effective would be to use the guts of something like Klark Teknik CT1 and transplant into your mic.

As the didgeridoo is a rather weak source in a louder sound environment, I prefer to stick with dynamics.
With some mixers I feel like I'm only amplifying bass while the subtleties of this instrument are more high mid. Obviously this happens most often indoors.
That's why I would like to use them for live.

That's what I thought I figured out after some research.
But what is not clear to me is do I plug directly into the capsule? It replaces the transformer?