And then the fight began . . .

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MicMaven

Good Day DIY Mavens and wizards. Let us stipulate I have a lovely limited edition Martin HD-28v acoustic guitar with one-in-a-million tone. (I played a LOT of 'em before selecting one that sounds better than the rest.) Let us further stipulate I want to play it through my Fender Acoustasonic amplifier (no debates about the amp, please, as it was a gift from my lovely young bride ... and while I have survived sitting in live sets on 6th Street in Austin, Texas, I am NOT a professional.) Also stipulate I refuse to drill any holes in my instrument. Moreover, I am am extrremely frugal (i.e., cheap) and like to build ham radio and audio accessories with a moderate skill level. Shoot, even though I designed a couple of really simple circuits that got published in a major hobby magazine, and twice won an antenna design contest, I remain a mere novice, so please go easy on me. (I have more ambition than skill.) :)

I KNOW there are LOADS of commercially available microphones, pickups, and combinations available, and yet, I wish to make or assemble a simple, straightforward microphone or pickup on the cheap that would sound good with my amp and not nick or scratch my instrument.

Any traction? Thanks in advance for any suggestions that would connect my guitar with my amp and sound good. James

You can make a simple pickup out of a piezo disc, which cost pennies, and through this preamp/buffer
https://www.jlielectronics.com/diy-accessories/p48-hi-z-piezo-buffer/connect it to your amp if it provides phantom power (48V).
If it doesn't you can use:
https://www.jlielectronics.com/diy-accessories/dual-hydrophone-pcb/It's basically the same buffer (hi impedance) circuit but powered differently. So you plug it not into the mic (xlr) input but into the instrument - 6,3 mm - jack input.