Computer Recording Master Section

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dsouku

Hello all,

I am new to this forum and would like to say Hi to everyone first. Hi. I am sort of new to the DIY thing and would like to dive in and give it a try. So I thought of a project I would like to start with but need some help from others. I have some electronic experience and can work a soldering iron so I am not going in totally blind.

Project: Build a rackmount box that does basic master section stuff from a console. Like Talkback, Speaker Selection, Master Volume, Dim and Cut, VU Metering for the 2 Mix and also would like to have 2 headphone amps that are able to be switchable from the 2 mix to the cue mix.

Examples: There are a couple of these products out on the market today, Like the Dangerous Music MQ, and the PreSonus Central Station, but they are very expensive and I am sure I could build one for a whole lot cheaper. What I am not sure of is getting all of this to work together. I have broken each section down and tried to find a schematic for each section and deal with each one seperatly.

1. Talkback
2. Headphone Amp
3. 2 Mix VU
4. Main Volume, Dim and Cut
5. Speaker Selector
6. Power Supply

What I specifically need is help with laying this out in a schematic and getting this all organized. I have never designed anything like this before and would appreciate the help. I don't think that this is too complicated of a project, but then again I could be wrong. Maybe this is too much to tackle for a first project, but I think if I concentrate on a section at a time it shouldn't be too bad.

Thanks,
David

YEP
this is one of my backburner projects and has been so for a while.

I've had a few attempts and these have ended up working models BUT as the customer demands change so easily I haven't been able to come up with a single solution.