D-AOC PCBs - the building and help Thread

Help Support GroupDIY:

Gold

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,798
Location
Brooklyn
I put 10 turn trimmers is the Input and Output positions. I only brought Compression out to the faceplate. I use the input trimmer to get the thresholds matched and use the Output trimmer to match the gain.
 

dagoose

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
699
Location
HI Ambacht, the Netherlands
Holger said:
My guess is that you won't get the required accuracy by modding the device. Try Ian's "Neve Trick":take a 1k variable trimmer and put the hot leg of the 600 ohm transformer secondary to pin 1 of the trimmer, take the "wiper" or pin 2 as output and connect the TX 600 ohm secondary cold leg to pin 3. Do that on both L and R and set the trimmer to match gain.
That's a good one,  I will give that a try.  8)
 

Gold

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
2,798
Location
Brooklyn
I got the second Double DAOC done. I still need to dress some wires but I have both units pretty tightly matched. That's eight channels.

DAOC_Dual-1.JPG


DAOC_Dual-2.JPG
 

dagoose

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
699
Location
HI Ambacht, the Netherlands
Holger said:
Report back
I just made the Left and Right level correct in a different, more simple but effective way. The difference was about 0.2db, so not that big and so the steps didn't have to be big.
I replaced R103 (R203) to a 44k + 10k multiturn trimmer instead of the 49k9. That way I could easily trim it to get the same gain on L an R.  8)
 

L091c

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
22
justinheronmusic said:
Does anyone have asource or part number for the PSU transformer?

Mine came from Don-Audio https://www.don-audio.com/g-pultec-power-trafo-sec-220v-9v-5V
 

L091c

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
22
I am finishing my D-AOC but I re-use a pretty case that already has a High Pass side chain switch in its front panel. I share Darius' concern that the HP should not happen using a passive capacitor (Cx04) before the vactrol because the resistance of the actual LED will vary by the signal (moving the cut off freq dynamically).

Would there be another way to introduce a switchable and stable HP side chain filter in the design? Like replacing/augmenting Cx04 with an active filter?
 

fragletrollet

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
406
Location
Oslo
Can I use the 1N5170 instead of the 1N5171? 56V instead of 60v? I'm guessing it might not be crucial as it's in the meter circuit?

Also, I am thinking to install different vactrols and switch between them using relays, can normal small signal dip relays do the job or do I need high voltage ones? Would I just need to switch the diode part of the vactrols, will the vactrols that are out of the path on the diode side affect the signal on the resistance side, as they would be in paralell to the pair that is in circuit? (running the back to back vactrols kubi style, so 8 vactrols in total, 2 pairs for each side).

 

L091c

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
22
KrIVIUM2323 said:
Hi,
put a buffer after c04 should do the trick..
Something like this Krivium? (Illustrating the before & after)
index.php


Not sure yet how to address the ref voltages though. What is the voltage swing here?

 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2021-02-09 at 00.23.55.png
    Screenshot 2021-02-09 at 00.23.55.png
    29.5 KB · Views: 126

KrIVIUM2323

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
361
Location
France
Hello,
Yes this is what i had in mind. ( the buffer could have been something different ( a jfet buffer, a tube as cathode follower - same as vx02a,...- but if there is already some +/-15v rail present opamp are easy to implement).

With the vactrols i used the cv voltage have never been an issue with typical +/- 15v rails. I've never used vtl5c2 (and don't really studied the schem of Daoc) so can't speak of it but i would be surprised if this was different. I would check for current capability of opamp but given the sidechain is driven by an ecc81 initially, i would expect a moderate needs in current so no needs for a 'special' opamp ). 

 

L091c

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
22
KrIVIUM2323 said:
Yes this is what i had in mind. ( the buffer could have been something different ( a jfet buffer, a tube as cathode follower - same as vx02a,...- but if there is already some +/-15v rail present opamp are easy to implement).

Thanks Krivium for thinking with me!

The thing is, there is no +/- 15V rail, and even then, the voltage swing here could/should be over 200V (yay tubes!). The LED in the vactrol does not care about high voltage, it only cares about current. With an opamp as follower I will need to restrict the current to protect both the LED and the opamp, think I will finish the build first without the HPF, measure in-situ before adding modifications and think a bit longer about how to implement the buffer (preferably without adding another tube).

Love to hear other/better/safer approaches, please do share. Did anyone actually measure the original dynamic HPF that happens due to 100nF + R of Vactrol? Or did anyone add their own HPF to the D-AOC?
 

justinheronmusic

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
225
Location
USA
Starting to gather momentum for this build, before I get started, I have some questions.

Can this fit in a 2U case from Collectivecases?

What are my options for PSU transformer these days? Does Rondo Mueller have options? Or is there anything in the USA?
 

shabtek

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 8, 2005
Messages
2,082
Location
midwest usa
can fit in 2u but tight, don't know about c.cases--if they make one for this than it should fit


external power supply can fit anyhing, send fused raw dc to main unit for filtering
 

Potato Cakes

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 1, 2014
Messages
1,887
Location
Nashville, TN
justinheronmusic said:
Starting to gather momentum for this build, before I get started, I have some questions.

Can this fit in a 2U case from Collectivecases?

What are my options for PSU transformer these days? Does Rondo Mueller have options? Or is there anything in the USA?

I have mine in a 2U and it wasn't bad. Power transformer I ordered from don-audio.com.

Thanks!

Paul
 

justinheronmusic

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
225
Location
USA
Potato Cakes said:
I have mine in a 2U and it wasn't bad. Power transformer I ordered from don-audio.com.

Thanks!

Paul

Relief! The Power xfrmr was my bigest concern and if I can get it through Don-Audio then I can get a few other tidbits from them! Thank you!
 

L091c

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2014
Messages
22
Hi all, during building we found a pretty big deviation from spec'ed voltage. And we are not sure if we should be worried about it or trace the origin of this error. Two independent builds show: ~236V on the plate of ECC81/12AT7 instead of Volker's 109V. My heater is at 6.44V. Here are all my voltages (in green) next to Volker's (red):
voltages.png
 
Last edited:
Top