Early days electronics - am I being overambitious?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FatAsFunk

Hi everyone,
I am a mastering engineer, & have recently got the bug to start making my own kit.  I'm incredibly impressed by the fine work I see on this board! Respect.

I am still a relative novice with electronics, but I have been learning a lot recently & am pretty decent with a soldering iron. I can read a circuit board reasonably well, but to be honest am not quite up to speed on calculating resistor values etc. (although a lot of the schematics have these already marked, so hoping I won't need to be an expert in this?)

I would love to try making one of the Gyraf Pultec units -

#1 Firstly, am I being too ambitious at this stage with this project?
#2 I see a couple of BOM around, but the links seem outdated/broken. Anyone have one?
#3 How much (roughly) would it cost me to build it do you think?

If this project is going to be too much of a headache for me at this stage, can anyone recommend a mastering quality EQ I could build first?

e.g.  How about the Audio X Studer 169 (mastering version) as seen here?: http://www.groupdiy.com/index.php?topic=33996.0      (am I right in thinking that the only difference between the "mastering" & "standard" version are the resistor values?)

I understand (from Gustav) that a lot of the work needed to make a mastering EQ "mastering quality" is matching the caps & resistors between L&R channels  I am up for spending the time on this kind of mission!

This has turned into a slightly nebulous post, sorry, but thanks in advance for any advice, I'm really impressed with all your work.
All the best,
Loz.

FatAsFunk said:
Hi everyone,
I am a mastering engineer, & have recently got the bug to start making my own kit.  I'm incredibly impressed by the fine work I see on this board! Respect.