Geezer in FL

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reeler

Retired, 69, I have at least a dozen each of R2R's, cassette decks, guitars, amps, and misc electronics that I mostly can't fix electronically. And a few motorcycles. I have replaced some caps successfully and can usually find a broken wire. But I am good with the mechanicals, I was a motorcycle tech back in the day and have tons of tools. I am on some other forums and I am hoping to learn by reading things here, and posting if you allow noob electronic questions. I also have a youtube channel called 2wheelsturnin with songs mostly done on multi track tape.

I don't have a problem fixing motorcycles, I was a Honda dealer tech in the 70's in PA and a Harley dealer tech in the 90's in FL. I couldn't count the number of carburetors I have cleaned after customers let them sit all winter (in Pennsylvania). I also fixed lots of DC electrical problems but tape decks are a different story...logic circuits, etc.

Welcome to the group. I am 71 and there is a bunch of us baby boomers on here.There is no problem with noob electronics questions here. I have a degree in electronics but I am useless at mechanics so maybe you can help me with some noob mechanical questions.

Rock On

Cheers

Ian

No problem with questions if I have experience with the problem. You have a degree in electronics??? HELLO GOOD BUDDY LOL.

Welcome aboard!

When you start to repair those tape machines you might want to start another YouTube channel and call it "Two Reels Turning."

That sounds cool. What machine did you use for locations?
I started in the late 60s with a Brenell MK5 stereo reel to reel. We used to record a backing track then bounce to the other track adding vocals. I later upgraded to 4 track TEAC A3440 with dbx and a Revox A77 high speed for mastering and finally a Fostex R8. Then I went digital :(

Cheers