New member from Sweden

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jean Passepartout

Hi,
Found this forum a couple of years ago, but didn't register until now. I've been tinkering with electronics since I was 8-9 years old, when my father gave me a Philips EE. I got my first electric guitar about 1980, and from there on it was mainly about converting anything available into a guitar amp of some kind. My first experiences with the somewhat higher voltages in a tube amp compared to the Josty-kits were a bit painful. You live and you learn. This was way before the internet, so when I got photo-copies of some of the more classic amps it was pure heaven. Many Dynacos and similar got a new life with a Bassman- och Marshallesqe preamp. Old tube amps were sometimes given away for free...

During daytime, I have a perfectly normal job as an architect. My mental yoga takes place late evenings in my small electronics workshop in the basement of our house. I also play guitar in a small but enthusiastic cover band in the town where I live, which means that there's also some maintenance to do with our gear.

Tube amps makes me happy. Both guitar amps as well as Hifi gear. Right now, among other projects I'm restoring a Perpetuum Ebener HSV60 and a couple of Dynacos. Suddenly two Quad II's turn up as well. They're ex-Swedish radio, and it was a link about these that made me register here eventually.

Regards,
Tomas

Thanks for the warm welcome. Tubes, valves, röhren, rör, whatever... I find it quite amusing that even most french seems to refer to "tubes".