PIO upgrade from polypropylene - worth the effort?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Confirmation bias?
Nope. When it comes to electronics I am a total beginner compared to some brilliant minds around here but I have been recording and playing music for 30 years…I have been doing this for too long to “want to believe stuff”. I have tried it and the differences are there. Sometimes subtle sometimes not so subtle…sometimes negligible.

Nope. When it comes to electronics I am a total beginner compared to some brilliant minds around here but I have been recording and playing music for 30 years…I have been doing this for too long to “want to believe stuff”. I have tried it and the differences are there. Sometimes subtle sometimes not so subtle…sometimes negligible.
tbf I don't think the general issue is whether there is a difference. Rather it's whether it can reasonably characterised as an "upgrade". Esp given that there sre likely to be a significant differences between any individual PIO caps.

I think I might be constrained by the area in which I have to work with. Quite possibly, a film cap is the only thing that will fit there. Time to do some measuring. Thanks for all the help.

I never use vintage caps(NOS or otherwise) without testing them for leakage at operating voltage...I've seen a number of transformers in vintage mics lose a winding from a leaky cap.
A nice modern PP cap should sound great.

This just tells me you're not understanding confirmation bias.

Our ears suck, and our brains lie to us. No matter how much you think not, and no matter how hard you try not to let it happen.

This just tells me you're not understanding confirmation bias.

Our ears suck, and our brains lie to us. No matter how much you think not, and no matter how hard you try not to let it happen.