Well, I'll Just Go Ahead and Make My First Post Here

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MountCyanide

GDIY Supporter
I'd like to dip my feet in and introduce myself here before I start chiming in on anything.

I've been recording and creating music for over 25 years. Being very discriminating about gear for the brunt of that time (the good stuff and the flavorful bad stuff -- which I indeed dig) I've finally arrived at a point where I'm going to do something about wanting to know what makes these things tick and sound so beautiful or beautifully ugly. I started with stalking this site and grabbed a copy of Electronics for Dummies. I've been a bit obsessed and just juggling this data gathering in between studio time and woman time and dogwalking. I've got a hunger to get to the bottom of all these why?'s I have regarding audio electronics. And as the veil is slowly being lifted off I still must say that it's all magic really. You all are some magicians. I respect your innovation, perseverance and ethos of sharing. After months of thread reading and link clicking I started with a Lazy Sprocket pedal from BYOC. Plugged it in after putting about 10 hours into it and VOILA - without a hitch. Lovely, crying guitars. My soldering skills were way better now than when I barely successfully cabled up my old Sound Workshop desk replete with injuries and burned pants a decade earlier. So now I've started in on the Hairball 990's and I'm just having the time of my life with this old soldering gun. It's kind of like a nice zen retreat for me with a reward far beyond calmed nerves - better sound, gear, knowledge and respect for designers and builders. Woohoo. But it hasn't been all perfect I must say. I've always prided myself on detail sticklering but I've made my share of misplaced resistors and upside down caps. But that's learning. And stretching myself.