Console groups vs aux. Which would you wish having more of?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boji

To all you veteran recording engineers out there:  In mixing, what's more valuable to you: having sufficient groups or having enough auxs?

The reason I ask is because I'm at a crossroads on my input card where I can build in either
6 groups and 8 auxs, or  8 groups and 6 auxes.

Since I have little experience working on big desks and multiplayer live recording scenarios, I could use your advice on what you see as serving more in utility, over time.  Thank you!

Edit: I should mention this will be a 24 channel desk with options to add more later. DAW subgrouping would be used where applicable.

A lot depends on what you intend to record and mix on it. What situations can you see when you need more than 4 of either?

Cheers

Ian

boji said:
To all you veteran recording engineers out there:  In mixing, what's more valuable to you: having sufficient groups or having enough auxs?

The reason I ask is because I'm at a crossroads on my input card where I can build in either
6 groups and 8 auxs, or  8 groups and 6 auxes.

Since I have little experience working on big desks and multiplayer live recording scenarios, I could use your advice on what you see as serving more in utility, over time.  Thank you!

Edit: I should mention this will be a 24 channel desk with options to add more later. DAW subgrouping would be used where applicable.

On the one hand....
Everybody seems to do 8 groups and 6 auxes.  So you could be different and do 6 groups and 8 auxes.

On the other hand....you've got five more fingers.  ;D

But seriously, most scenarios I can think of would require more auxes for accommodating headphone mixes to talent and/or FX sends.  Even working in the box, I find myself never using groups, but using at least a few auxes.