Capsule or Circuit, which one is THE sound?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bugmenotor

I'm a complete noob regarding microphones, but as far as I know, there are some microphones using the same capsules, yet they sound completely different. So, I want to know which one of them is actually contributes to the main qualities of a microphone. I'm talking about frequency response, tonal quality and maybe some technical characteristics as self-noise, SPL...etcetera

Capsule at first place, headbasket second, circuit third place and only of it's not flat.

Most mics have flat circuits and in that case it's mostly about THD, noise, phase shift, and such. All of which should be inaudible and lowest possible. So the circuit should behave as non existent.

Some like u87, u67 have basically an eq built in, and can affect the sound tremendously. So in this case circuit plays a big role, yet again even then capsule and headbasket come first.

There's a recent thread i started on Townsend labs Sphere, and there you can see a measurement of how headbasket affects response.

Would you mind giving me the link to the Townsend labs Sphere post?
So, the capsule comes first? I already had the idea about headbasket affecting the sound, as I've heard countless times this situation regarding the U47.