D-AOC PCBs - the building and help Thread

ilfungo

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
1,353
Location
ITALY
II saw that many have mounted with the heatsink off the card ....
is to prevent overheating?
Thanks
 

[silent:arts]

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,131
Location
Berlin, Germany
ilfungo said:
II saw that many have mounted with the heatsink off the card ....
is to prevent overheating?
Thanks
yes. mount it (important: insulated !!!) to the case is much better than the heatsink on the PCB.
 

Benny

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
292
Location
Germany
Hey guys,

did some improvements on my D-AOC yesterday. Kubi mod etc.  The unit sounded great but I did not calibrate the meters yet. So I installed a 100k trimmer for R126 and R226 and followed the instuction posted earlier in this thread. Channel 2 is now working great. Meter tracking is a little off, but no problem for me.
But I couldn't get the first channel working right. Everytime I turn up the threshold pot the VU goes up, too. So I checked everything and found out that suddenly the NE2 lamp in ch 1 did not work. I thought that it could have something to do with the meter tracking, took out the board, soldered in a new NE2 and after powering up channel 1 did not compress any more. In and out amps are o.k. and sound great but no compression.
Checking the unit again I found out that the stereo-link wire from channel 1 got torn off the switch while soldering and maybe got contact to the power switch, which is right below the link switch in the purusha case... ;D I soldered the wire to the switch and tested again, but still no compression...

Any ideas??? Checking the pcb for a day and a half, my brain's empty now.

Benjamin
 

wolfgang

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 29, 2008
Messages
218
Location
Austria
I found out that the stereo-link wire from channel 1 got torn off the switch while soldering and maybe got contact to the power switch, which is right below the link switch

Maybe the vactrol got damaged? I dont know how to test it properly but you could compare it with the working channel?

regards,
Wolfgang
 

Benny

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
292
Location
Germany
I just put two new vactrols in my D-AOC, calibrated the meters again and voila...
My D-AOC works perfectly now and most of all sounds great!!!  ;D
I just tested it a bit on vocals and love it.
Meters tracking is good, btw.

Benjamin
 

jensenmann

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 10, 2004
Messages
2,603
Location
Karlsruhe, Germany
After a DIY break of more than a year I finally made it to put the longtime finished PCB in a case. Here´s some pictures from my DAOC on the bench while meter calibration. I replaced R126/226 with a 100k trimmer to get a better GR tracking. Some of Kubis mods are installed. Sidechain filter frequency is 200-something Hz. Input iron is Stancor/MCI 4:1 reversed, output is Edcor WSM. Tubes are Siemens/Telefunken, meters are NOS Philips. Unfortunately I could not yet listen to it. There´s some 2W resistors which I have to replace because they get very hot and are placed too close to caps. They will damage the caps if running for a longer time. Wiring is a mess, of course.

normal_000_0357.JPG



normal_000_0358.JPG



Thanks to Analag, Volker, Kubi and Frank "NRGrecording" for making this happen.
 

Soeren_DK

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
526
Location
Denmark
Eje2005 said:
Soeren_DK said:
Anybody done some drawings of the off-board-wiring?

Cheers
Soren

There´s not much to draw up.
What are you wondering about?
I can't figure out how the stereo switch is working?

@Volker
Do you have the layout for the Haufe trafo pcb you have in your unit? I have some 255/1 I want to use..

Cheers
Soren
 

Soeren_DK

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
526
Location
Denmark
Of course... hehe.. stupid question.
How does it work? What does the stereo signal do to both units? How do you control the stereo unit?

Can I use any Lundahl for this project?
I have some LL1540 and some LL5402 laying around..

Cheers
Soren
 

seavote

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,080
Location
Long Beach,New York
not certain so if im wrong someone correct me.
i believe the sidechain signals are combined and then sent to the vactrol. this way both sides recieve the same signal and compress equally.
the two pin molex confused me.      (-) remains unused
 

[silent:arts]

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Messages
5,131
Location
Berlin, Germany
seavote said:
not certain so if im wrong someone correct me.
i believe the sidechain signals are combined and then sent to the vactrol. this way both sides recieve the same signal and compress equally.
absolutely correct

seavote said:
the two pin molex confused me.       (-) remains unused
there are no one pin molex available ;D
and I like to use shielded cables, and connected (-) to ground.

Soeren_DK said:
How do you control the stereo unit?
the controls of both sides influence the gain reduction in stereo mode.
 

Soeren_DK

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
526
Location
Denmark
Thanks :D :D

@Volker
Do you have the layout for the Haufe trafo pcb you have in your unit? I have some 255/1 I want to use..

Cheers
Soren
 

Latest posts

Top