I am new to you, if you haven't seen me before

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oblivionboyj

Hey kids, how goes?

I am John and I live in Melbourne, Florida. I am not new to forums, but I am new to this one and it has been a while since I posted/used an old school forum. It is kinda nice, I miss this format. It seems to have been mostly displaced by Facebook conversations, which hasn't been an improvement in general.

I own and run a small recording studio and have a couple PAs that I rent out for events. What brought me here was a conversation on Facebook (ironic considering my previous condemnation) about an old Yamaha MC1604 that I was given because "it is a useless old piece of crap". It had a pop spilled on it at some point, but really just needed a thorough cleaning to be fully functional. I actually really like the preamps on the board, and the EQs turn out to be very musical. I have heard these old Yamaha desks referred to as the Japanese Neve. I get it; everybody wants to equate what they have to a Neve. As if there aren't other preamps that are wonderful in their own right (I am looking at you Focusrite, API, Amek, Neotek, and a thousand other old school brands) The suggestion to come here was based on the fact that y'all seem to have some mods to the series you are discussing. So I came here to see what you guys had on the books.