Pronomic SCM-1

Help Support GroupDIY:

Erik2345

Active member
Joined
Dec 6, 2014
Messages
26
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Top-quality-Takstar-CM-60-professional-recording-microphone-Aforementioned-Type-Condenser-Microphone-for-musical-instrument/32823205728.html?ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_0_10152_10151_10618_10059_10696_10084_100031_10083_10624_10304_10821_10843_10623_10307_10846_524_10341_10065_10340_10068_10343_10342_10301_10103_10620_10344_10820_10622_10621,searchweb201603_0,ppcSwitch_0&algo_pvid=43972c5a-924d-4b32-85ac-7e14e7a87f2d&algo_expid=43972c5a-924d-4b32-85ac-7e14e7a87f2d-7

http://www.takstar.com/en/product/detail-16-79-7-479

Even cheaper at ali..24,74Euro
 

Icantthinkofaname

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 15, 2018
Messages
395
Location
Ontario
Erik2345 said:
https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/Top-quality-Takstar-CM-60-professional-recording-microphone-Aforementioned-Type-Condenser-Microphone-for-musical-instrument/32823205728.html?ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0,searchweb201602_0_10152_10151_10618_10059_10696_10084_100031_10083_10624_10304_10821_10843_10623_10307_10846_524_10341_10065_10340_10068_10343_10342_10301_10103_10620_10344_10820_10622_10621,searchweb201603_0,ppcSwitch_0&algo_pvid=43972c5a-924d-4b32-85ac-7e14e7a87f2d&algo_expid=43972c5a-924d-4b32-85ac-7e14e7a87f2d-7

http://www.takstar.com/en/product/detail-16-79-7-479

Even cheaper at ali..24,74Euro
If the new SMC-1s have a much better capsule it's worth the extra money. I'd buy one or a pair if I could find English language stores shipping to North America stocking them. On amazon.ca it's $100 CDN (so like $75 USD) for one of them. It's probably only $60 CDN + shipping if I buy a single one. The Amazon price could probably buy me a pair of them.

Sure, you could buy a Takstar and then buy the linked capsule from eBay, but then you're already spending around what you'd spend on the SCM-1. The Takstars cost around $45 USD, and those capsules look to be around $20, so you'd be spending just as much to get the same result. And the SCM-1 specs seem like they'd be more reliable. 30-18,000 Hz seems a lot more realistic than 30-20,000 Hz for a small diaphragm mic like that.

I'm actually surprised how many awesome mics you can find in Europe. In the USA and especially Canada it seems like MXL, Behringer, and a couple  Audio Technica and CAD mics are the only real budget options. Now that's where buying online helps, but it's not always an option if things don't ship to your country.
 

analogguru

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
529
Location
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Sure, you could buy a Takstar and then buy the linked capsule from eBay, but then you're already spending around what you'd spend on the SCM-1.
I can also buy a Takstar and speculate that the picture is outdated.  Who do you think is producing the SCM-1 ?

Pronomic ? is only a brand name, you can also have your name printed on the mics if you buy enough. 

Kirstein ? LOL, they don't even look inside the boxes shipped from China and therefore they don't put another capsule inside....
 

Khron

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
1,892
Location
Finland
For what it's worth, i know Gear4Music in the UK sells some rebranded Takstar stuff. Can't quite tell if Takstar is a / the OEM, but...
 

analogguru

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
529
Location
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Khron said:
For what it's worth, i know Gear4Music in the UK sells some rebranded Takstar stuff. Can't quite tell if Takstar is a / the OEM, but...
At least they (claim to) have a factory with 1000 employes:
http://www.takstar.com/en/profile/3

and even a R & D team:
http://www.takstar.com/en/profile/4
 

RuudNL

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
2,407
Location
Haule / The Netherlands
Yes, of course "Pronomic" is just a name for the Kirstein products, they will be produced by a known microphone manufacturer somewhere in China. And the "Takstar" CM-60 looks almost the same as the Pronomic SCM-1.
But I have no idea if the Takstar microphones have also updated the capsule.
I wouldn't take the risk!
 

e.oelberg

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
788
Location
Berlin
I agree they Are very usable, I just tested my mic,  sounds pretty good, not tons of detail, not spectacular, but also not annoying.
 

Attachments

  • 7C698841-DEBD-4423-B941-160F53CB3B44.jpeg
    7C698841-DEBD-4423-B941-160F53CB3B44.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 72

shot

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2008
Messages
637
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
So what would be better pick - SubZero or Pronomic?
Considering that both will be modded even before the first use...

:)

Luka
 

Khron

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
1,892
Location
Finland
I guess the better (or more accurate) question would be, which one has the better capsule? :)

Since the electronics are all but "expendable"... ;D (ie. going to be modded, if not replaced altogether)

shot said:
So what would be better pick - SubZero or Pronomic?
Considering that both will be modded even before the first use...

:)

Luka
 

e.oelberg

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
788
Location
Berlin
shot said:
So what would be better pick - SubZero or Pronomic?
Considering that both will be modded even before the first use...

:)

Luka

actually I like them how they are, I won't mod nothing
 

kingkorg

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 15, 2017
Messages
1,239
Location
Norway
Pronomic and Takstar are smd, SubZero is not ;)

SubZero us still a good pick, and front grille that causes 7k peak can be shaved off with an angle grinder. But one has to make some kind of mesh in front of membrane, which usualy leaves you with an ugly mic. 

That 7k peak can be usefull on snare, toms, and other things that benefit from boost in that area.

SubZero has a pad. Not very well implemented one, but it has it.

However i would like to have Pronomic capsule as well.
 

e.oelberg

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 14, 2004
Messages
788
Location
Berlin
I personally like smd, it needs a little training but it is easier for rework and modding
 

analogguru

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
529
Location
Vienna, Austria, Europe
Many thanks for the pictures !!!
Interesting the unassembled pad-switch and the 1G-SMD-resistors.... they must be cheap - I want some....
No stabilization for the FET ?
Floating/popping low-cut-filter ?
Normal diodes at the output ?

BTW, someone soldered new transistors for Q1/Q3....
 

Khron

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 8, 2010
Messages
1,892
Location
Finland
They're not quite THAT cheap - they added an extra (filter?) inductor (L2) at the input of the DC-DC converter ;D And what might be a small common-mode choke right at the XLR input/output (the thing that has white "gunk" around it)...
 

RuudNL

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 26, 2009
Messages
2,407
Location
Haule / The Netherlands
It might be a good idea to remove some flux residue, especially around the high-z input.
(My microphones had lots of flux all over the place.)
 

Latest posts

Top