Built a "Custom 500 Series Mixer"

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ip_dalie

Hi Guys..

I’m planning to make a custom 500 series mixer

The ideas is:

- For tracking (pre - eq/comp - direct out)
- For mixing 8-16 channels (DAW insert)
- Summing 8-16 to 2
- Monitor & Headphone amp

So it’s basically 500racks plus Faders+Pans to Mix Bus.

In the schematic below,
- As a newbie I think I will lose -6 (THAT1256) at the balanced-unbalanced section,
- And I’m not sure about how much I lost and recover at the Fader-Pan section (ESP Project).
- The Unbalanced & the L/R Bus section, I took from DiyRe Colour Module schematic.

Mixer 2.png

I really need help for some advice, or maybe if there is better idea :)

Thank you Guys!!

- Ip

Last edited:
Nice project.

I am not sure what is going on with your input pad but the load it presents to the mic and the source it presents to the mic pre does vary somewhat. What are you trying to achieve here?

You will need a few more components around the THAT parts to make them work properly but I am sure you already know that from the data sheets.

Looks like you have 6dB in hand on the fader. 10dB is more 'normal'

The pan pot circuit is OK and inexpensive but the dual circuit will give slightly better noise performance (not a big deal)

Looks like you are using voltage summing. With op amps there really is no reason not to use virtual earth summing. I am not usre of the purpose of the 20KA dual pot in the summing section - is it just a level trim or is it supposed to be a master fader?

I notice you have no AUX sends or returns.

Cheers

Ian

Nice project.

I am not sure what is going on with your input pad but the load it presents to the mic and the source it presents to the mic pre does vary somewhat. What are you trying to achieve here?