Favorite mic kit - MicandMod, AMI, Micparts.com, BeesNeez, other?

GroupDIY Audio Forum

Help Support GroupDIY Audio Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MasterEvan07

First post here!

I'm on my second mic build and it's kinda got me looking down the rabbit hole of possibilities for better this, that, and the other...problem is I'm an amp and guitar guy, so I've very little experience in high end mics and what to look for - I just know if it sounds good it is good.

What's the order of importance in a mic - capsule, transformer, etc. - for most significant impact on the response and tonality?

Who makes the highest quality kits or is it a pick your parts kind of thing?

Looking forward to learning more and having fun dipping my toes in this arguably unfamiliar world.

What's the order of importance in a mic - capsule, transformer, etc. - for most significant impact on the response and tonality?
Welcome! There are certainly many different opinions on this. In my humble opinion, the individual components are responsible for the sound in the following order:

Capsule, capsule, capsule, type and quality of the head amplifier circuit (tube, FET, etc.), grille and body, PSU, transformer and component quality.

The whole thing should be taken with a spoonful of salt. :cool:

Welcome! There are certainly many different opinions on this. In my humble opinion, the individual components are responsible for the sound in the following order:

Capsule, capsule, capsule, type and quality of the head amplifier circuit (tube, FET, etc.), grille and body, PSU, transformer and component quality.

The whole thing should be taken with a spoonful of salt. :cool: