Hairball Audio, LLC - DIY Kits and Components. HairballAudio.com

Help Support GroupDIY:

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
fragletrollet said:
What are the difference between the 500-series 1176`s and the "standard" ones (if comparing the same revisions)? I`m guessing that the 500-series ones might have a little less headroom due to the lower power used? Anything else?

Nope, gain is the same (45-50 dB depending on rev).  The rails are the exact same (+30V and a - bias rail), it's explained on the MNATS site.  Keep in mind +16 and -16 is still a 32V swing.

500 series have a slightly higher noise floor but we've only noticed it in measurement.  500 series does add the 2:1, true bypass and more responsive metering.

Mike
 

Echo North

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2006
Messages
4,433
Location
Seattle, WA
dmp said:
Oops, EA-1166  neve output
Sorry, number typo

Oh I think we might be discontinuing the full sized and just stocking the 500 series.  I need to chat with Ed.

I wouldn't wait around for them.
 

okgb

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
5,796
Location
Winnipeg Mb Canada
the 500 fet boards are available separately ?  I've been meaning to build one as a guitar pedal
which I believe " slideRig " is, thanks
 

Stagefright13

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 15, 2007
Messages
1,159
Location
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Just got your new 1176 rack case today. It is the BOMB! Thanks so much. Looks Beautiful! Meter looks Authentic too! Will tally up what is left and order again. Thanks Mike!

John
 

mnats

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
984
Location
Australia
ChrioN said:
Are the new 1176 PCBs exclusive to the FET/RACK kits, or can they be bought elsewhere? I got some cases already.  :-\
I can't speak for Hairball, but the new FET/RACK was designed as a whole rather than PCB + Case. Unless your case was designed specifically for the new FET/RACK boards they are unlikely to work correctly. Crucially, two of the three brackets at the back of the board are for chassis and signal ground while all three aid the structural integrity of the finished unit.
 

Blackdawg

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
149
Location
Wyoming/St. Louis
Just finished 2 Rev/F builds. Waiting on a part missing from one. However, when i plug in one to calibrate, the top meter(Gain meter?) all the LEDs are lit..Can't be right. Nothing seems to change it.

Any tips?
 

dmp

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
3,034
Location
Madison, WI
Mike,
You've got some bad links to your website
Start with the links in your signature...

Blackdawg, go to the support thread in dynamic processors - no one is going to see your post here.
 

Latest posts

Top